pancakes

this morning i made chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast.  my grandpa actually made up this recipe and they are the best pancakes ever!  so much better than the kind you make from a box.  they are super fluffy and yummy!

i have so many wonderful memories of my grandpa making pancakes for us.  i often stayed over my grandparents house during the summer and winter breaks and my grandpa would make these delicious pancakes for breakfast for me.  my grandpa was the best cook and baker.  he would make these awesome turnovers, coconut, apple, mountain apple, and more.  when he picked me up from school to take me to ballet class or soccer practice, he would always bring a turnover for me as a snack.  he was the sweetest!  i miss my grandpa.

oh back to the pancakes, this recipe has been passed down through our family.  my dad makes these pancakes for us on special occasions and now i make these pancakes pretty frequently since it’s probably one of our favorite breakfast foods.  it’s definitely the most requested by my boyfriend.   we usually make chocolate chip pancakes but i’ve also made blueberry and banana pancakes with this recipe.  just like one of my favorite jack johnson songs,

like waking up too early 

maybe we could sleep in 

i’ll make you banana pancakes 


pretend like it’s the weekend now 


     

     

a quick tip, use a ice cream scoop or a ladle to measure out the pancake batter for each pancake.  this helps ensure all of the pancakes are the same size.  also avoid multitasking while making pancakes or you’ll be too busy loading the dishwasher and then you flip your pancakes just a minute too late and your pancakes will be a bit darker than you would like, like the ones on the top.  oops!

(more…)